1333. AC/DC. Blow up Your video. 1988. Atlantic (EEC, NM) = 23$

AC/DC – Blow Up Your Video

Label: Atlantic – 781 828-1, Atlantic – WX 144
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album
Country: Europe
Released: 29 Jan 1988
Genre: Rock
Style: Hard Rock


Side A

A1 Heatseeker 3:46
A2 That's The Way I Wanna Rock And Roll 3:42
A3 Meanstreak 4:07
A4 Go Zone 4:24
A5 Kissin' Dynamite 3:57

Side B

B1 Nick Of Time 4:17
B2 Some Sin For Nuthin' 4:11
B3 Ruff Stuff 4:27
B4 Two's Up 5:18
B5 This Means War 4:2


Blow Up Your Video is the eleventh studio album by Australian hard rock band AC/DC, first released on 18 January 1988. It was later released in the US on 1 February 1988. The album was recorded at the Miraval Studio in Le Val, France, in between August and September 1987.

The album was produced by Harry Vanda and George Young, the production team behind the band's early albums. This was also the final studio album to feature drummer Simon Wright. Although he wrote all the lyrics on the album, it would be the last on which Brian Johnson was credited as a songwriter (all songs on subsequent albums were written by the Young brothers). The title of the album was taken from a line in the song "That's The Way I Wanna Rock 'n' Roll".

The album was the band's biggest-selling album of new material since For Those About to Rock We Salute You, being certified Platinum in the US. Blow Up Your Video reached #2 in the UK and #12 in the US. However, the band played four tracks from it on the subsequent world tour, "Heatseeker", "That's the Way I Wanna Rock 'n' Roll", "Nick of Time" and "Go Zone". "Heatseeker" and "That's the Way I Wanna Rock 'n' Roll" are also featured on AC/DC Live Collector's Edition. "Heatseeker" was a top 20 hit in the UK. The album was re-released in 2003 as part of the AC/DC Remasters series. During the Blow Up Your Video world tour, Malcolm Young decided not to participate in the North American leg, in order to get over an alcohol addiction. Filling in for him was Malcolm and Angus' nephew, Stevie Young, although Malcolm was present on the rest of the tour and in the Blow Up Your Video promotional videos. The album was nominated for the Grammy Award for Best Hard Rock/Metal Performance Vocal or Instrumental in 1989, but lost to Jethro Tull's Crest of a Knave.

Outtakes from the recording sessions include the unreleased songs "Let It Loose" and "Alright Tonight", as well as other versions of "Heatseeker", and "That's the Way I Wanna Rock 'n' Roll"

Companies etc

Record Company – Atlantic Recording Corporation
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Leidseplein Presse B.V.
Copyright (c) – Leidseplein Presse B.V.
Distributed By – WEA Records Ltd.
Manufactured By – Record Service GmbH
Published By – J. Albert & Son (UK) Ltd.
Published By – Chappell Music Ltd.
Recorded At – Studio Miraval


Design – Bill Smith Studio
Engineer – Tom Swift
Engineer [Assistant] – Chuck Cavanagh, Jean-Jacques Lemoine
Musician – Angus Young, Brian Johnson, Cliff Williams, Malcolm Young, Simon Wright (4)
Photography By – Gered Mankowitz
Producer – Harry Vanda And George Young*
Technician [Special Assistance] – Roy Cicala
Written-By – M. Young / A. Young / B. Johnson*

First pressing with "781 828-1" catalog# printed on the center labels.

All tracks recorded at Studio Miraval, France.

All songs published by (G.B. only) J.Albert & Son/Chappell Music Ltd.

℗ 1988 Leidseplein Presse B.V. © 1988 Leidseplein Presse B.V. Distributed by WEA Records Ltd.
Manufactured in Germany. Pressé en Allemagne. Record Service GmbH, Alsdorf.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

Barcode: 0 75678 18281 5
Rights Society: GEMA/BIEM
Label Code: LC 0121
Matrix / Runout (A-side stamped): R/S Alsdorf 781828-1-A
Matrix / Runout (B-side stamped): R/S Alsdorf 781828-1-B
Other (Distribution code UK): WX 144
Other (Distribution code Germany): Ⓤ
Other (Distribution code France): WE 381